This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Cuba

Cuba is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Cuba. Information on all primary administrative regions in Cuba.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Cuba alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Cuba

There are 16 regions in Cuba in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Cuba
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
La Habana La Habana1.722,045Havana Havana2,163,824
Santiago de Cuba Provincia de Santiago de Cuba2.1,047,015Santiago de Cuba Santiago de Cuba555,865
Camaguey Provincia de Camagüey3.321,992Camaguey Camagüey347,562
Holguin Provincia de Holguín4.1,037,161Holguin Holguín319,102
Guantanamo Provincia de Guantánamo5.510,863Guantanamo Guantánamo272,801
Villa Clara Provincia de Villa Clara6.803,562Santa Clara Santa Clara250,512
Las Tunas Las Tunas7.536,027Las Tunas Las Tunas203,684
Granma Provincia Granma8.835,675Bayamo Bayamo192,632
Pinar del Rio Provincia de Pinar del Río9.592,851Pinar del Rio Pinar del Río186,990
Cienfuegos Provincia de Cienfuegos10.405,481Cienfuegos Cienfuegos186,644
Matanzas Provincia de Matanzas11.690,113Matanzas Matanzas146,733
Ciego de Avila Provincia de Ciego de Ávila12.422,576Ciego de Avila Ciego de Ávila142,027
Sancti Spiritus Provincia de Sancti Spíritus13.465,468Sancti Spiritus Sancti Spíritus127,069
Artemisa Artemisa14.502,392Artemisa Artemisa68,073
Mayabeque Provincia Mayabeque15.381,446San Jose de las Lajas San José de las Lajas54,847
Isla de la Juventud Municipio Especial Isla de la Juventud16.86,420Nueva Gerona Nueva Gerona20,264