This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Cuba

Cuba is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Cuba. Information on all primary administrative regions in Cuba.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Cuba alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Cuba

There are 16 regions in Cuba in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Cuba
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Santiago de Cuba Provincia de Santiago de Cuba1.1,047,015Santiago de Cuba Santiago de Cuba555,865
Holguin Provincia de Holguín2.1,037,161Holguin Holguín319,102
Granma Provincia Granma3.835,675Bayamo Bayamo192,632
Villa Clara Provincia de Villa Clara4.803,562Santa Clara Santa Clara250,512
La Habana La Habana5.722,045Havana Havana2,163,824
Matanzas Provincia de Matanzas6.690,113Matanzas Matanzas146,733
Pinar del Rio Provincia de Pinar del Río7.592,851Pinar del Rio Pinar del Río186,990
Las Tunas Las Tunas8.536,027Las Tunas Las Tunas203,684
Guantanamo Provincia de Guantánamo9.510,863Guantanamo Guantánamo272,801
Artemisa Artemisa10.502,392Artemisa Artemisa68,073
Sancti Spiritus Provincia de Sancti Spíritus11.465,468Sancti Spiritus Sancti Spíritus127,069
Ciego de Avila Provincia de Ciego de Ávila12.422,576Ciego de Avila Ciego de Ávila142,027
Cienfuegos Provincia de Cienfuegos13.405,481Cienfuegos Cienfuegos186,644
Mayabeque Provincia Mayabeque14.381,446San Jose de las Lajas San José de las Lajas54,847
Camaguey Provincia de Camagüey15.321,992Camaguey Camagüey347,562
Isla de la Juventud Municipio Especial Isla de la Juventud16.86,420Nueva Gerona Nueva Gerona20,264